School of Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science

Staff

Dean & Head of School

Prof Serestina Viriri

Prof Serestina Viriri is a full professor of Computer Science. His main research areas include Computer Vision, Medical Image Analysis, Machine Learning, Image Processing, Pattern Recognition, and other Artificial Intelligence and Image Analysis related areas, such as (Biometrics, Medical Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Remote Sensing, etc.). Prof Viriri is an NRF-rated researcher. He has been in academia for more than 25 years.

PA/Secretary: Ms Victress Nkone  |  Nkonev@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 7233

Surname, NameResponsibilityEmailTelephoneLocation
Chifurira, RetiusStatisticschifurira@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8732Westville Campus
Ezugwu, AbsolomTeaching and LearningEzugwuA@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6584Pietermaritzburg Campus
Goswami, RituparnoResearch & Higher Degreesgoswamir@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1036Room 460, H1 Block, Westville Campus
Gwetu, Mandlenkosi  Computer Sciencegwetum@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5650Pietermaritzburg Campus
Massamba, Fortune Mathematics: PMBMassamba@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5611Pietermaritzburg Campus
Ray, Subharthi Mathematics: DBNrays@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7685Westville Campus
Management Staff
Els, Leonard Manager: Technical Operationsels@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5013/033 260 3019Pietermaritzburg Campus
Whyte, JacquieManagerwhytej@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5768 / 031 260 7721Howard College Campus
Surname, NameDisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
Computer Science
Dlamini, SiboneloComputer ScienceDlaminiS4@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7513 / 3018Room 330, H1 Block, Westville Campus
Els, Rosanne Computer Scienceelsr@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5662Pietermaritzburg Campus
Ezugwu, AbsalomComputer ScienceEzugwuA@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6584Pietermaritzburg Campus
Fonou-Dombeu, Jean Computer Sciencefonoudombeuj@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5644Pietermaritzburg Campus
Gwetu, Mandlenkosi Computer Sciencegwetum@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5650Pietermaritzburg Campus
Jeewa, Asad Computer ScienceJeewaA1@ukzn.ac.za                     031 260 7676Westville Campus
Jembere, Edgar Computer Sciencejemberee@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1035Westville Campus
Pillay, Anban Computer SciencePillayw4@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3018Westville Campus
Pillay, KubendranComputer SciencePillayk1@ukzn.ac.za Howard College Campus
Singh, YuvikaComputer ScienceSinghY1@ukzn.ac.za Westville Campus
Viriri, Serestina Computer Scienceviriris@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7724Westville Campus
Vorster, Luke Computer Sciencevorsterl@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1037Westville Campus
Mathematics
Amery, Gareth Mathematicsameryg1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2797Westville Campus
Arunakirinathar, Kanagaratnam MathematicsAruna@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3830Westville Campus
Goqo, Sicelo Mathematicsgoqos@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5047Westville Campus
Goswami, RituparnoMathematicsGoswami@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7721Westville Campus
Govender, Gabriel Mathematicsgovenderg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8074Westville Campus
Govinder, Keshlan Mathematicsgovinder@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1363Westville Campus
Hansraj, Sudan Mathematicshansrajs@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1020Westville Campus
Khuzwayo, NS    MathematicsKhuzwayoN1@ukzn.ac.za               Pietermaritzburg Campus
King, MalcolmMathematicsKingM@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5642Pietermaritzburg Campus
Maduna, Snethemba  Mathematicsmadunas@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6595Pietermaritzburg Campus
Maharaj, Aneshkumar Mathematicsmaharaja32@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1021Westville Campus
Maharaj, Sunil Mathematicsmaharaj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1365Westville Campus
Mambili-Mamboundo, Hermane Mathematicsmambilimamboundou@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5649Pietermaritzburg Campus
Massamba, Fortuné MathematicsMassamba@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5611Pietermaritzburg Campus
Mewomo, Oluwatosin Mathematicsmewomoo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1002Westville Campus
Mgobhozi, Sivuyile Mathematicsmgobhozis@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7838Westville Campus
Mhlongo, Mfanafikile Mathematicsmhlongomd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7574Westville Campus
Mkanya, AneleMathematicsMkanyaA@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 8382Westville Campus
Mkhize, Zanele MathematicsMkhizez2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7778Westville Campus
Moodley, Kavilan Mathematicsmoodleyk41@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2543Westville Campus
Moopanar, Selvan Mathematicsmoopanar@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3008Westville Campus
Narain, Ojen Mathematicsnaraino@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8215Westville Campus
Parumasur, Naben Mathematicsparumasurn1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1364Westville Campus
Quadir, Raushan MathematicsQuadirr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8195Westville Campus
Ray, Subharthi Mathematicsrays@ukzn.ac.za031 260 76851Westville Campus
Sheng, Bau MathematicsBaus@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5624Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shindin, Sergey Mathematicsshindins@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1362Westville Campus
Sibanda, Precious Mathematicssibandap@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5626Westville Campus
Singh, Pravin Mathematicssinghp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7687Westville Campus
Singh, Virath Mathematicssinghv@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7687Westville Campus
Tarr, Heather Mathematicstarr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3020Westville Campus
Statistics
Batidzirai, Jesca StatisticsBatidzirai@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5615Pietermaritzburg Campus
Bodhlyera, Oliver StatisticsBodhlyerao@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5613Pietermaritzburg Campus
Chifurira, RetiusStatisticschifurira@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8732Westville Campus
Chinhamu, Knowledge Statisticschinhamu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3012Westville Campus
Desai, Arusha Statisticsdesaia@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7020Westville Campus
Dessie, ZelalemStatisticsdessiez@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7734Westville Campus
Habyarimana, Faustin Statisticshabyarimanaf@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5784Pietermaritzburg Campus
Hammujuddy, Jahvaid Statisticshammujuddy@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8153Westville Campus
Lephoto, Thabo StatisticsLephotoT@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5785Pietermaritzburg Campus
Melesse, Sileshi StatisticsMelesse@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5610Pietermaritzburg Campus
Murray, Michael Statisticsmurraym@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1013Westville Campus
Mwambi, Henry Statisticsmwambih@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5614Pietermaritzburg Campus
Nemukula, Murendeni Statisticsnemukulam@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8438Westville Campus
North, Delia Statisticsnorthd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1022Westville Campus
Ramroop, Shaun StatisticsRamroopS@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5612Pietermaritzburg Campus
Roberts, Danielle Statisticsrobertsd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1015Westville Campus
Zewotir, Temesgen Statisticszewotir@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7819Westville Campus
Zondo, Nombuso Statisticszondon@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8503Westville Campus
Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Howard College campus
Nhlangulela, Princess BavuyileAcademic Administratornhlangulelap@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3000Howard College Campus
Pietermartizburg campus
Barnard, ChristelAdmin Officer – HDRbarnardc@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5609Pietermaritzburg Campus
Bonhomme, BevAcademic Administratorbonhomme@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5609Pietermaritzburg Campus
Shangase, ZibuyileContract Admin Asstshangasez@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5647Pietermaritzburg Campus
Westville Campus
Khanyile, Nondumiso Principal Academic OfficerKhanyilet@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8167Westville Campus
Magwaza, CharmaineAcademic AdministratorMagwazac2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2776 /031 260 3018Westville Campus
Marimuthu, ShereenAcademic AdministratorMarimuthus@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7136Westville Campus
Moodley, SelveraniAcademic AdministratorMoodleyse@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7134Westville Campus
Nkone, VictressSchool Administratornkonev@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7233Westville Campus
Pillay, AlershneeAcademic AdministratorPillayal@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3011Westville Campus
Sichela, PennyFinance AdministratorSichela@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7782Westville Campus
Surname, NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Combrink, GarthPrincipal TechnicianCombrinkg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7677Westville Campus
Deepa, AashishAssistant TechnicianDeepaA@ukzn.ac.za Westville Campus
Els, LeonardManager: Technical Operationsleonard@cs.ukzn.ac.za031 260 3019 / 031 260 8829Pietermaritzburg Campus
Greenwood, SorenSenior TechnicianGreenwoods@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8185Westville Campus
Moodley, ShaunPrincipal TechnicianMoodleysha@ukzn.ac.za031 260 6125Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tshijila, AsandileTechnicianTshijilaA@ukzn.ac.za Westville Campus